Anthood

ant in water dropletThey threw me back in time.
Or maybe it’s just my mind..

I hover upon a slick white marble. It’s so quiet, my thoughts boom. I need to think quietly. Why am I subject to this picture? Just as I begin to get bored, the ant scuttles into view. It’s light brown, almost transparent. The six legs (two hands, four legs?) have unusual traction. It random walks and halts at the center of the scene. Oh wait, it doesn’t, rather I’m moving with it. It seems drunk, the way it slowly moves its antennas. Maybe it is drunkard walking. What am I doing? I should be worrying about the guys who put me here. But aaah! The ant is so beautiful. They say it is a live thing. But look at those eyes – I see.. innocence? Reminds me of my neighbor’s kitten. I feel weird terming it ‘it’..

Where is it coming from? Where is it going? The leg movements are hypnotic. Hmm..

Is that water? Looks like jelly. It’s coming closer to the ant. The ant just missed a step. It feels the water with its antennas, and quickly breaks the surface with its mouth. It’s so amazing! I’d trade in every thing I possess for such fab sights. Wait, who am I again, and what am I doing here? Suddenly, a finger comes into view ‘through’ me. It hovers over the ant stealthily. It touches the nearby water and the water climbs up on it. The finger slowly moves towards the ant. What the- the finger moves quickly and covers the ant with the water. The ant becomes frantic and tries to get out of the envelope as the ominous finger watches over. It finally succeeds in getting its head out of the water, and is about to move out when the finger pins it down and crushes it. The finger moves out through me. I think I saw a leg twitch.. It’s so silent..

Silence reek. What? What is this? Why am I seeing this? Why am I- I’m thrust back into me. Two big eyes stare at me, and with what qualifies as a grin, mouth,
“You know now.”
“That? You planning to crush us like ants?”
“That was you commander, crushing the ant. What reason did you have to do that?”
Amusement. That was what it was. I try desperately to fit in a good reason, but that was what it was, and if he saw the memory, he knows what it was.
“Please”
He smirks.
“Futility of life. All that is there to life is amusement. Destroying earth amuses me. How does your existence matter to me anyway? I’m in a mood to erase you, so be it. It’s such a splendid view – to see a star explode and consume a desperate civilization. Enough with the hospitality, get back to your people and prepare for death.”

A void. Void in my head, my life.
“Please..”
I see him smile as one of them puts me in a pod. Next moment, I’m in the Pentagon. The suits look at me. I don’t know what to say.
“Sir?”
I nod. The room explodes in chaos. I shrug off the suits that try to lead me out, and walk out. The sun’s already bigger and redder. As I stare at it, the dead ant comes to my mind. I take out my gun, and point it at my head.

What’s the point? I have a gun. How does anything matter anymore?

I pull the trigger..

Leave a comment